Shift Happens

This Wednesday at approximately 1:20 PM I leave for a 6-week journey that will take me from Seattle to Manhattan for a few days and then on to Ireland, Sweden, the UK, back to Ireland, and then homeward bound to Seattle-land.

I’ve started this blog so I can share my stories of travel, adventure, yoga, nature, and music. If this sounds interesting to you I encourage to sign up for my blog below and follow and witness my trip as it unfolds.

It’s funny, whenever a big trip comes up it kind of reminds me of vision quest time. Synchronicities become more prevalent or at least more obvious to me and life takes on a heightened colour. Ah, the magic of travel and of letting go of routines!

Part of this trip is for pure pleasure and the opportunity to reconnect with new friends and landscapes that have touched me. Another part of this journey is about sharing my gifts with a wider community of yoga practitioners and nature mentors. And still another part of this is about learning, about filling my own cup, and about engaging with life in a way that will leave me with stories that I will tell my grandchildren.

I am definitely nervous too, amidst the excitement. Will I be safe taking all these crazy forms of public transportation? Will I have enough money both for my travels and when I return? And what will happen out there that will simply shake my world upside down? See, that’s the thing, when you leave home, life becomes a little more fluid, a little more uncertain, and a lot more adventurous!

A Hafiz poem comes to mind now, one that I love. Let me know your thoughts below.

In A Tree House

Light
Will someday split you open
Even if your life is now a cage,

For a divine seed, the crown of destiny,
Is hidden and sown on an ancient fertile plain
You hold the title to.

love will surely bust you wide open
Into an unfettered, blooming new galaxy

Even if your mind is now
A spoiled mule.

A life giving radiance will come,
The Friend’s gratuity will come –

O look again within yourself,
For I know you were once the elegant host
To all the marvels in creation.

From a sacred crevice in your body
A bow rises each night
And shoots your soul into God.

Behold the Beautiful Drunk Singing One
From the lunar vantage point of love.

He is conducting the affairs
Of the whole universe

While throwing wild parties
In a tree house – on a limb
In your heart.


Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shift Happens

  1. Rosalee says:

    We are in very similar places right now Kat – I loved the poem! And I look forward to hearing about your adventures. I hope to do something similar, but am unsure about internet access… we’ll see. 🙂 Bon voyage mon amie!

Leave a Reply

