Comfort the Disturbed, Disturb the Comfortable

I’m sitting in my room on the 36th Floor of the Marriott Marquis, right smack dab in the middle of Times Square. My mom flew in tonight from Ohio and we’re spending a few days together before my Forrest Yoga Mentorship Weekend with Erica Mather here in NYC.

How strange (no matter how many times I do it) to be on the other side of the country in a mere 5 1/2 hours. Dave drove me to the airport this afternoon. I cried as we left my house, I cried as we parted ways at the airport. Yes people, I am a crier, and I was reminded of that today! But it’s funny who shows up in life. At the airport I met a young jazz musician (electric guitar player) who had just finished his first year at NYU and we chatted for awhile about music. I felt comforted by his presence. To me, what that experience was saying was this: No matter where you go, good people will cross your path. As small as that may seem, it gave me hope for my trip.

In fact, I’d like to make a declaration right now. On this trip, I’m going to experiment with a mindset change. Everything that happens to me on this trip is meant to be. Good news, bad news, who can tell. Hey, my Swedish yoga workshops might be canceled? Meant to be. What kind of opportunity will then show up?

Oh, and by the way, if you fly into JFK and want to take public transport to Times Square at 23:00 on a Wednesday, just know that it will take a long time. The A Train from Howard Beach, as a local (stops at every station), seemed never ending. So take the advice of the cute young black man and take the E train instead, it will be faster.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

