If you can’t convince them, confuse them

This is Gerry Brady.

Last weekend this Irish man with a golden heart taught me a lesson.

It was a reminder really, of a lesson I’ve already learned.

It’s about putting people 1st, putting connection first & being in the moment.

Here’s the story…

I met Gerry Brady in June 2010 at an Art of Mentoring in England. Gerry is an old friend of Jon Young, the founder of Wilderness Awareness School. I liked Gerry from the very beginning. He was funny, charming, kind, and a little dirty — just my kind of man! Oh, and I did I mention? He’s a musician and has an encyclopedic knowledge of songs and how they relate to Ireland!

From the beginning I could see that Gerry was invested in helping other people make music and feel comfortable doing so. In Ireland, almost everyone sings, even if they aren’t very good. Music is in their blood and it comes out naturally! Gerry is a fine representative of this.

Anyway, last weekend my friend John texted me. Gerry was in town, at SEA-TAC airport on a 3 hour layover and did I want to go and hang out with him? My immediate reaction was YES! When I realized that I couldn’t carpool with John to get there, my reservations came up. Context: It takes about 45-60 minutes to get to the airport, and that’s a one way journey! Here’s what my mind did:

“Oh, it’s sooooo far! And I can’t really afford the gas money. And I was going to go for a long walk and do some work for Kamana.org. I was content with my plan for my afternoon and now this thing has come up that’s making me uncomfortable.  But I should go. But I can’t, I just can’t. I can’t afford it.”

Then, something shifted. I remembered how when I was in Ireland Gerry came to the Dublin airport to pick me up and waited for hours when my plane was late and then my baggage delayed. And I remembered how he drove me around Dublin and took me to the sea and out to dinner. And I thought, “F$%* It! I’m going! I don’t care if I can’t afford it.”

So, with a little trepidation, but definite determination I popped in my car and zoomed on down the windy roads to the airport. And I’m glad I went. Because it was fun. And because when I left I felt better than when I arrived.

You see, in Ireland I learned that going with the flow of the moment often lead to amazing adventures and connections that otherwise would not have occurred. Every time I return home from a 30 day + trip I promise myself that I will incorporate this lesson into my daily life. And every time I struggle. There’s something about being home and getting into a groove, a routine, a rut. Then, when a cool opportunity comes up it seems to hiccup against my routine and often causes me discomfort! But as I’ve been shown again and again, where there is discomfort there also lives potential.

Gerry Brady is a funny man. It is partly his thick Dublin accent that I still struggle to understand. But it is also his wit. Every country has it’s colloquialisms. But it’s as if Gerry has a string of his own. One of my favorites from my time with him at the airport is the title of this post, if you can’t convince them, confuse them. He used it to describe his interaction with an American police officer. In a borrowed convertible, Gerry was sightseeing along the California coast, speeding. He was pulled over. The officer began questioning him, thought he’d been drinking and made him do some sobriety tests. At one point he moved a pencil back and forth in front of Gerry and he told him to follow it. Gerry’s entire head moved. When the police officer said, “Stop moving your head!” Gerry’s response was, “Well, stop moving the pencil!” Only a 71-year old Irish man could talk to an American police officer like that get away with it! By the way, the officer didn’t ticket him. His situation was too confusing (hence the phrase).

Here’s another picture of Gerry and I. Each time I get my picture taken with him, I look so happy. He lifts people up with his energy. 71 years old and still very much alive!

So, have you ever had the traveling eyes? Have you ever been on a journey long enough that life took on a different flow than ever before and you were forever changed? And have you had the experience of coming home and working to integrate your travelin’ lessons into your day to day life? Please, share your stories below. Let’s learn from one another.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If you can’t convince them, confuse them

  1. Joleen says:

    I do the very same thing and end up talking myself out of what could be a great experience. Thank you for letting me know I’m not the only one that does that and also for telling me in a wonderful way to get over myself, to stop getting in my own way. Great story!!

  2. Christina says:

    I just loved your post! Especially this part:

    “There’s something about being home and getting into a groove, a routine, a rut. Then, when a cool opportunity comes up it seems to hiccup against my routine and often causes me discomfort! But as I’ve been shown again and again, where there is discomfort there also lives potential.”

    I love the fresh perspective I have when I return home from traveling, the ability to see the same old things differently, the traveler’s eye. There’s no reason we shouldn’t be able to “travel” in our own neighborhood everyday. But you’re right – hanging on to the re-engagement of your soul is tough.

  3. amy says:

    Wow Kat kat kat – thank you so much for this post – blessed syncronisity – perfect timing. just got back from a grief tending (on Arran in Scotland – you’d love it) and i’d very much like to keep acting from my core instead of letting my mind get in the way. someone said it’s good to get out of the way of yourself and that’s what i’d like to try to hang on to now i’ve come back from a place where it felt so natural and easy to move and act from my centre. thanks so much for the reminder! xx

Leave a Reply

