What do you Love?

In life there are many things, people, places, events, and ideas that we can contemplate. There are many ways to become more self aware and more connected. In fact, there are many ways to do many things. I am by no means a master of anything, but I do value my life experience and the “real world education” I’ve received by following my own path. So I want to offer you something to contemplate today. 

I got an email recently from a friend who had lost her job. We were discussing fear and the things that hold us back from being fully present and alive. And that got me thinking. Because usually what is underneath fear is love (or the lack of it). And contemplating what we love is a powerful practice that can move us out of fear. And then I remembered something…

When I studied with Wilderness Awareness School, one of the core routines they had us practice was paying attention to what we loved, what made us come alive. As students we kept a pocket pad (waterproof of course, this is Western Washington) on us at all times so we could jot down those moments that made our fiery hearts unfurl. I began to see that dancing made me come alive. And music. And yoga. And spending time in the natural world. I began to realize I loved these things. And when I spent a significant portion of my life in those states my life began to transform. Duh! Seem obvious right?

Yes and no. It is easy to become overwhelmed. We live busy lives. We have many shiny gadgets that lure us in. We have family and friends and those people have expectations of us. We have to eat and sleep. We go to work. Some of us have children (who are incredible, by the way, at doing what they love). Some of us have illness or injury. When do we have time to contemplate what we love, let alone actually do it?

We’ll, I’m an advocate for love. I say rebel. Take the time to discover what you love, what makes you come alive. Pay attention. And remember to have some gratitude as you discover. I say this is one of the most powerful things we can do to change our lives and the lives of those around us for the better. Your children will thank you. So will your spouse. I choose love. Do you?

Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

