There is wisdom in your resistance…

I watched a video last week that inspired me and I’ve since been using this concept in my day-to-day life.

“There is wisdom in your resistance. Stay with it long enough to learn its’ wisdom.”
-Cathy Collautt

Normally a segment on manifesting change or material goods or whatever in my life would have me rolling my eyes and calling a friend of mine to laugh at the new-age/hippie culture we’re a part of. But this one was different.

Dr. Collautt spoke about what a new song I’ve been listening to so poetically says: “Down on the corner of what I want and what I seem to get…” She says one of the main reasons we don’t get what we truly want is because our subconscious isn’t on board with our conscious mind. Instead of telling us to repeat mantras or think positively she actually recommends that we listen to our resistance.

Listen to your resistance. There is wisdom there.

She says in every heap of resistance there is a golden nugget of something that is important for us. Here’s an example.

A friend of mine asked me to do something for him. I wanted to. But I felt resistance. Instead of glossing or powering over it I stopped and paid attention. And I realized there was indeed a golden nugget in there. My resistance was reminding me that as I take care of others I need to make sure I am taking care of and listening to myself. And that I make sure I’m engaging in healthy relationships. There have been many times in my life where I’ve been in relationship with a person or done something for someone that didn’t feel good, but I felt obliged or pressured or that I had to do it in order to be loved. This is a recipe for unhappiness. So as I move forward I need to honor and respect myself as I care take those I love. Gold indeed!

There is more to this formula and if you’re curious, watch the video HERE.

Have you ever experienced this? What did you learn? There are at least 25 different opportunities in a day to practice this concept. Try it out. Let me know how it goes.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

