Sunniest of Sunny Easters

The MusiciansOn March 31st 2013 one of my dreams came true. On the sunniest of sunny Easters I recorded my first vocal demo. With the help of my friends, family, and students I raised enough money to hire some of the best musicians in Seattle to help me shine as a vocalist.

Did I mention I was incredibly nervous?

It’s funny. As humans we often fear our dreams NOT coming true. And then that fear transfers over when our dreams ARE indeed coming true. Doesn’t really make sense when you think about it.

I’ve been catching myself in this place frequently. When fear comes up I make sure I’m actually safe and then I do this one simple thing, and you can try it if you want to:

I get quiet and shake it off like a winter coat no longer needed in Spring. Like armor made of chain mail.

And then I press my feet into the ground and find some kind of pleasant sensation. I let that one spread like wildfire. See, personally, I’m tired of missing my life because of the past and future. I want to enjoy the ride. The process. The journey. The moment.

Laughing FoolsI’m happy to report that Sunday March 31st I enjoyed myself thoroughly. All the instrumentalists and the engineer were very kind and supportive. We laughed a lot. We played some gorgeous music. And by the end of the month I’ll have something to share with all of you. Let me say, I’m excited by the rough tracks. There are some truly magical moments.

Yes, I improved. We call it scatting in jazz.
Yes, I got to trade fours with a bass player. And a drummer.
Yes, there were moments when people were on the same page and went to the same place at the same time musically.
And yes, I have so much to learn. It’s exciting.

Now it’s your turn. Have you had a dream come true recently that both shook and pleased you? How did you handle it?

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

