Be safe, but not too safe

Today I left my man, my home, my friends, and a beautiful spring day for a new kind of adventure. The kind where you put more trust in strangers. The sort where you truly place yourself in the kindness of the world.

Tears streaming down faces.
Multitude of faces from many different places.
Placing my trust in what lies before me.
Counting on the wisdom of what came before. And the wisdom of now.
I travel…

As I sat waiting for my plane in Seattle, a song came over the loudspeakers. It’s called Innisheer and comes from the Aran Island (County Clare) named such. I learned this song on a pennywhistle from some 8 year old children on my first trip to Ireland. Let me tell you, it is not a common song to hear in the states. It gave me goosebumps.

I went on a field trip with the Letterfrack Primary School in Connemara. The wind was so intense you could really lean into it and be held up!

Years ago when I left my full-time job at Wilderness Awareness School the staff did a goodbye ritual called an angel walk. They created two lines facing one another and then stuck their hands out with enough room in between for me to walk through and feel their touch. As I walked they gave me blessings for my travels. Here’s one that has stuck with me, and I pass it on to you.

Be safe, but not too safe.

To that blessing I say, yes. Yes, yes, yes. Right on.

If you have any travel blessings for me, or anyone else you know and love, please, leave them below.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Be safe, but not too safe

  1. Julie says:

    I love you Katie, i can see your sparkle all the way from here.

  2. Diane Birckbichler says:

    May your travels bring a beautiful smile to your face, that Irish smile that lights up your face whenever you are there. I’m thinking of that wonderful picture of you in the Bantry market holding the rabbit.

  3. angie says:

    May you see and feel love and joy whenever you need them to be your companions. Love!!

Leave a Reply

